CALL US: 800.562.0601

Our News RSS

Fall District Meetings


About the Program

Have you ever felt lost when special education is discussed? Staying on top of the various legal terms, acronyms and changing laws can seem intimidating; however, familiarity with these laws and requirements is vital for school board members who bear responsibility for helping to ensure their school systems provide students with disabilities the free and appropriate education to which they are entitled.

AASB's 2019 Fall District Meetings will be led by education attorneys and experts who will walk you through the special education basics board members need to know. This is also the perfect opportunity for you to network with your peers.

COST: $25 and covers your meal

EARN: 1.5 training hour

TIME: Program begins at 6 p.m.


Times and Locations


District 1 | Thursday, Sept.12 | REGISTER 

Original Oyster House
3733 Battleship Parkway,
Spanish Fort, AL 36527

Boards: Baldwin, Brewton, Chickasaw, Clarke,
Conecuh, Escambia, Gulf Shores, Mobile, Monroe,
Saraland, Satsuma, Thomasville, Washington and
Alabama School of Math & Science


District 2  | Thursday, Aug. 29 |   REGISTER 

Wallace State Community College
3000 Earl Goodwin Pkwy, Selma, AL 36703  
Boards: Autauga, Bibb, Butler, Chilton, Choctaw,
Dallas, Demopolis, Linden, Lowndes, Marengo, Perry,
Selma and Wilcox


District 3 | Tuesday, Sept. 10 | REGISTER

Hoppergrass Restaurant
129 East Ave. N, Ozark, AL 36360
Boards: Andalusia, Barbour, Coffee, Covington,
Crenshaw, Dale, Daleville, Dothan, Elba, Enterprise,
Eufaula, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Opp, Ozark, Pike and Troy

District 4  | Thursday, Sep. 19 |  REGISTER

AASB Office
43 Jackson Street, Montgomery,
Montgomery, AL 36104 

Boards: Alexander City, Auburn, Bullock, Chambers,
Clay, Coosa, Dept. of Youth Services, Elmore, Lanett,
Lee, Macon, Montgomery, Opelika, Phenix City, Pike Road,
Randolph, Roanoke, Russell, Tallapoosa and Tallassee


District 5 | Tuesday, Sept. 3  | REGISTER

A.H. Parker High School
400 Reverend Abraham Woods Jr. Blvd., Birmingham, AL 35204 
Boards: Alabaster, Bessemer, Birmingham, Fairfield, Homewood,
Hoover, Jefferson, Leeds, Midfield, Mountain Brook, Pelham, Shelby,
Tarrant, Trussville, Vestavia Hills and Alabama School of Fine Arts

District 6 | Thursday, Sept. 5 | REGISTER

Classic on Noble
1024 Noble St.,
Anniston, AL 36201

Boards: AL Institute for Deaf & Blind, Anniston, Attalla,
Calhoun, Cherokee,Cleburne, DeKalb, Etowah, Ft. Payne,
Gadsden, Jacksonville, Oxford, Pell City, Piedmont, St. Clair,
Sylacauga and Talladega


District 7 | Monday, Sept. 9 | REGISTER

 Hotel Capstone
320 Paul W Bryant Dr.
Tuscaloosa, AL 35401

Boards: Fayette, Greene, Hale, Jasper, Lamar, Marion, Pickens,
Sumter, Tuscaloosa, Walker and Winfield, University Charter School


District 8  | Tuesday, Sept. 17 |  REGISTER

Moulton Recreation Center
13550 Court Street 
Moulton, AL 35650

Boards: Athens, Colbert, Cullman, Decatur, Florence, Franklin,
Haleyville, Hartselle, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Morgan,
Muscle Shoals, Russellville, Sheffield, Tuscumbia and Winston 


District 9  | Monday, Sept. 16 | REGISTER

Huntsville High School
2304 Billie Watkins St.
Huntsville, AL 35801

Boards: Albertville, Arab, Blount, Boaz, Guntersville, Huntsville,
Jackson, Madison, Marshall, Oneonta and Scottsboro